Over 2,500 Illinois driver's licenses have been suspended due to the new electronic verification system and a lack of auto insurance. Here's what you should know.
Launched July 1, the new electronic verification system checks every license twice a year in an effort to promote auto insurance. For the state, driver safety is a concern, and with many drivers opting out of insurance coverage, officials are turning toward automation and strict regulations as a solution.
Illinois Secretary of State Spokesperson Henry Haupt says, "This program definitely and strongly encourages everyone to get automobile insurance because if you do not have it, […] your license plates will be suspended."
The verification system is paid for by insurance companies with no burden on taxpayers.
Is it Illegal to Drive Without Insurance?
It's true that driving without insurance can be risky, but is it illegal? If you live in Illinois, it is. In fact, most states have laws that penalize uninsured drivers.
Liability insurance must be purchased at a minimum of:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per passenger
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $20,000 for property damage
If you don't have the minimum amount of insurance coverage listed above, you could face harsh penalties, including license suspension.
Penalties for Uninsured Drivers
In addition to license suspension, driving without insurance could cost you at least $500 in fines, and driving with a suspended license could lead to a fine of at least $1,000. These fines are costly, but they only apply to drivers operating uninsured vehicles.
It's bad enough to drive uninsured, but getting in an accident can put you in a tough situation. Regardless of fault, you could be penalized, and in some states, the other driver could file a lawsuit against you which means you pay for all medical expenses and damages out of pocket.
In IL, fault is important when deciding the fate of an uninsured driver. Essentially, the driver responsible for the accident is held accountable for paying all the damages and medical expenses, but there's a catch.
While you may not be at fault for the accident, you may still face penalties. As mentioned earlier in this article, Illinois has strict insurance rules, and if you're found lacking, you'll be charged with a penalty.
What To Do If Your License Is Suspended
Driving with a suspended license – regardless of the reason for the suspension – is illegal. The reason for your suspension comes into play when law enforcement charges you for driving without a license. In some cases, you may even be charged with a Class 4 felony.
If your license is suspended, seek legal help immediately. An attorney can advocate for you in court and provide support throughout the process.
At Johnson Law Group, we provide personalized strategies backed by nearly a century of combined experience in and out of the courtroom. We can help you regain your freedom, and we've got the results to prove it.
Don't wait! Contact Johnson Law Group today!