Assault Lawyer Bloomington, IL
Representation for Assault Charges in IL
Illinois State law defines assault as using any sort of conduct or behavior that intentionally makes another reasonably fearful of being harmed or battered. By this definition, assault is not actually hurting someone but instead using intimidation, scare tactics, and coercion to negatively influence them. To this end, it is plain to see how a misunderstanding or exaggeration could lead someone to accuse you of committing an assault.
Need defense against assault charges? Contact our Bloomington, IL assault lawyers today by calling our offices at (309) 565-8825.
Penalties for Assault Charges in IL
If you are being charged with simple assault in Illinois, you are most likely going to be charged with a Class C misdemeanor. Do not make the mistake of assuming that the penalties will be lenient, or that Class C is a low-level misdemeanor. Any conviction could slam you with harsh penalties.
You could be sentenced with any of the following after an assault conviction:
- One month in jail
- $1,500 fine paid to state
- Restitution paid to alleged victim
- 5 days of community service (total hours)
Illinois Aggravated Assault Penalties
The aforementioned legal penalties may be implemented for the most basic forms of assault in Illinois. It is not uncommon for assault charges to be escalated to aggravated assault charges. If this happens, you could be faced with a Class A misdemeanor charge, or possibly a felony. The penalties will be escalated as well, including 6 years in prison and a $2,500 fine.
You could be charged with aggravated assault if you allegedly:
- Attempted to hide your identity (including hooded garments)
- Used a motor vehicle to threaten someone
- Recorded the assault for distribution to others
- Used a deadly weapon, or a mock deadly weapon (see below)
- Committed the act in a public place
- Committed the act against a “special victim”
In Illinois legislation, a “special victim” is anyone who is specifically protected from harm under additional state or federal statutes. This can include a law enforcement officer, emergency responders, public workers, elders, and the handicapped, mentally or physically.
Assault With a Deadly Weapon Illinois
If any sort of object or item is involved with your assault charges, it could be considered a weapon. Depending on what it is capable of inflicting, it may be considered a deadly weapon, which could raise an assault straight to a Class 4 felony. It does not matter if you had the capability of using the deadly weapon correctly, only that it could have caused fatal or serious injury under any circumstances. For example, you do not need firearms training to have a pistol in your possession be considered a deadly weapon.
Four items that will constitute a deadly weapon if used in an assault include:
- Firearm, rifle, or gun
- Knife or blade
Defending Against Assault Charges in Bloomington, IL
The worst mistake you can make after being accused of assault is to simply accept the charges and admit guilt. The truth is that there may always be a way for your case to be dismissed, or your sentencing reduced. To keep the criminal justice system honest and balanced, it is important to explore every avenue in a criminal trial. This is the belief and philosophy of our assault attorneys in Bloomington, IL, who have seen the other side of the courtroom as former prosecutors. Let us put over 100 years of collective legal experience to work for you.
FFL Revocation Hearing Won Gun Crimes
Order of Protection Cases Defended Assault & Battery
Felony Cases Successfully Defended Assault & Battery
Title IX Hearing Successfully Defended Title IX
Probation Drug Crimes
Meet Our TeamGet to know the highly-qualified and experienced attorneys that will be on your case.
TestimonialsOur clients value us as much as we value them. Read what our clients have to say about us.
In the NewsOur attorneys are frequently featured in the news throughout Central Illinois.