Suspended License Attorney Peoria, IL
Defense for DUI Driver’s License Suspensions
One of the most common penalties for a DUI offense is driver's license suspension. When a driver's license is suspended, this means it is effectively eliminated for a certain length of time. A convicted DUI offender who is given a driver's license suspension is not permitted to drive at all during this time unless issued a provisional license.
Normally, the driver's license suspension is not a decision handled by the court. Instead, the Department of Motor Vehicles handles this aspect of a DUI case. According to the DMV for Illinois, both the Secretary of State and the courts can decide to suspend your driving privileges.
What Happens if You’re Caught Driving on a Suspended License
When your license is suspended, this means that you are not permitted to drive anywhere in any vehicle. Sometimes, offenders will choose to drive anyway, assuming that there's no way that the law enforcement will detect that their license was revoked.
Individuals should keep in mind that the government has a database known as the National Driver Register which can keep tabs on all drivers that have revoked and suspended licenses. The database will keep drivers from obtaining a license in another state after losing their driver's license in the state where they were arrested.
Driving on a suspended license is considered a Class A Misdemeanor in the state of Illinois. Penalties for driving on a suspended license in this state include:
- A fine up to $2,500
- Up to 364 days in jail
In some cases, the offense can even be charged as a felony. This will involve:
- A fine up to $25,000
- Up to 7 years in prison
Restricted Licenses in IL
If your license is revoked or suspended, but you need to drive to work or another mandatory commitment, then you may be able to obtain a restricted license. You will need to apply for restricted driving privileges with the Illinois DMV. Typically, restricted driver's licenses will only allow an applicant to drive to work or school.
Sometimes exceptions are made if you will need to drive yourself or your relative to medical appointments. These privileges can also be granted to those that drive as a part of their employment. You will want to talk to your Peoria DUI attorney in you want to explore options for a restricted license
Reinstating Your License in Illinois
If your license is suspended, then you have the right to reinstate it after the court-determined amount of time has come to an end. You will need to fill out several administrative forms to reinstate your driver's license. You will have to pay the reinstatement fees set by the Illinois DMV. These are not included in the fines that you may have been issued when you were convicted of a DUI or another traffic violation.
To reinstate your license after a first suspension, it will cost you $250. Too reinstate your license after a second or subsequent suspension, it costs $500. Reinstating your license after a revocation will also cost $500, regardless of how many times you have been convicted.
In addition to paying the reinstatement fee, you will be required to apply for a new license. This means you may be required to take the Illinois driver's preparation course and will want to take the driver's test over again. You will also need to take the written test and pay the fees associated with a driver's license application.
Depending on the nature of your offense, the DMV may notify your insurance company of the license reinstatement and your insurance rates may increase.
Contact a Peoria driver's license suspension lawyer at our firm today to work on reinstating your license or to get defense in a DUI case that could result in license suspension!
Meet Our Team
Get to know the highly-qualified and experienced attorneys that will be on your case.Click Here
Our clients value us as much as we value them. Read what our clients have to say about us.Click Here
In the News
Our attorneys are frequently featured in the news throughout Central Illinois.Click Here