Illinois DUI FAQ
Peoria DUI Lawyer Answers Common Questions
How Much Alcohol Is Too Much?
In the state of Illinois and across the nation it is against the law to operate a motor vehicle or be in "actual physical control" of a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher.
Can I Be Charged With DUI for Driving Under the Influence of Drugs?
Yes you can. Under Section 11-501 of the Illinois Compiled Statutes, it is unlawful to drive under the influence of alcohol, another drug or drugs, or an intoxicating compound or any combination thereof.
As far as intoxicating compounds are concerned, you can get arrested for DUI if you are caught driving under the influence of a drug to the extent that it renders you incapable of driving safely. This means that if you drive under the influence of a lawfully prescribed medication that causes you to fall asleep at the wheel, you can be charged with DUI.
What Are the Penalties for a Simple DUI?
A person who is convicted of a simple DUI without any aggravating factors on a first offense is subject to up to one year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,500.
What Are the Standardized Field Sobriety Tests?
Standardized field sobriety tests are roadside tests conducted by law enforcement at the scene of a traffic stop to determine sobriety. The three tests include: the one-leg stand, walk and turn, and the horizontal gaze nystagmus test.
Do I Have to Submit to Standardized Field Sobriety Tests?
You are not legally required to submit to field sobriety tests and there is no penalty for politely refusing to take them. Evidence from these tests is often recorded on the police officer's dash cam and used against defendants in court to secure a conviction. We recommend that you politely refuse these tests since you are not required to perform them.
What Are the Statistics?
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Association (NHTSA), in 2010 over 10,000 people died in alcohol-impaired driving crashes, amounting to one fatality every 51 minutes.
What Can Happen if I Accidentally Kill Someone While Drunk Driving?
If you kill another person while drunk driving, you face aggravated DUI charges, a Class 2 felony offense, and up to 14 years behind bars for one victim and up to 28 years in prison if there were two victims.
Contact the Johnson Law Group
If you are facing first, second, or subsequent DUI charges or if you were involved in a DUI accident, we urge you to contact a Peoria DUI lawyer from the Johnson Law Group. With over 100 years of combined experience, we have aggressively fought and won countless DUI cases on behalf of our clients. Even if your situation seems hopeless, there is much to be said about receiving dramatically reduced sentencing and penalties through aggressive negotiations with the prosecuting attorney.
Contact our firm today at (309) 565-8825 to schedule a free consultation with a member of our legal team, you have nothing to lose and everything to gain by meeting with us to discuss your DUI case.
See Our Track Record of Success
FFL Revocation Hearing Won Gun Crimes
Order of Protection Cases Defended Assault & Battery
Felony Cases Successfully Defended Assault & Battery
Title IX Hearing Successfully Defended Title IX
Probation Drug Crimes
Meet Our TeamGet to know the highly-qualified and experienced attorneys that will be on your case.
TestimonialsOur clients value us as much as we value them. Read what our clients have to say about us.
In the NewsOur attorneys are frequently featured in the news throughout Central Illinois.