Multiple DUI Attorney in Peoria
Need a DUI lawyer for a repeat offense?
In the state of Illinois, the courts have affixed harsher penalties for multiple DUI offenders. This is because the state wants to discourage offenders from repeating their behaviors. In the state of Illinois there is a five year look-back period. This means that a DUI conviction within five years of an additional conviction will count towards the multiple DUI count. After five years, the DUI is no longer counted against the offender in trial.
Second Offense Penalties
A DUI offender with a second conviction will receive harsher penalties because he or she has committed a repeated offense. The prior DUI conviction must be within the past five years in order to apply towards the second conviction. Second-time offenders are required to spend five days in jail with up to one year possible or 240 hours of community service. Offenders will also have vehicle registration suspension, and will need to pay up to $2,500 in fines.
If there was a child under the age of 16 in the vehicle at the time of this second conviction, or if the offender had a BAC over 0.16, then this will bring on additional fines, community service requirements and potential jail sentences.
Third Offense Penalties
A DUI driver with a third offense within five years will receive a fine up to $2,500 and a minimum 10 year license suspension. In addition, the defendant will receive vehicle registration suspension if convicted and may spend between three and seven years in jail. A third drunk driving offense is classified as a Class 2 Felony.
If a child was in the car at the time of the arrest, it may result in an additional three years in jail and an additional $25,000 fine. This will also result in a Felony Aggravated DUI charge for the defendant. Those that are caught with a BAC over 0.16% on a third DUI will receive a mandatory 90 day addition to their jail sentence and another $2,500 fine.
Fourth, Fifth and Sixth Convictions
When a driver is arrested for a fourth time and convicted of a DUI, it is considered a Class 2 felony. The driver will lose his or her license for life and will get no relief from this punishment. The offender will also receive a suspension of vehicle registration. If the driver has a BAC over 0.16, he or she will have to pay a mandatory fine of $5,000 and those who have a child in the vehicle will need to pay $25,000 and serve 25 days of community service.
For a fifth conviction, the driver will be charged with a Class 1 felony. If convicted, the defendant will lose his or her license for life. Penalties are often harsher for this offense, and the same additional punishments for a high BAC or child endangerment apply.
Those who are arrested and convicted of a DUI for the sixth time in five years will be charged with a Class X felony. This can result in extensive jail time in addition to a permanent license suspension and the punishments applicable for a high BAC or child endangerment. And felony DUI charge is also regarded as an aggravated DUI, which will result in jail time and high fines.
Hire a Peoria DUI Attorney
In addition to the penalties listed above, the courts in Illinois have the right to add jail time, fines, and other penalties as they please. The Cyber Drive Illinois DUI Handbook writes that individuals can lose work time, be required to carry high risk auto insurance, be required to install an ignition interlock device, be required to complete an alcohol evaluation or an education course and substance treatment program, or another penalty.
If you are dealing with a subsequent DUI conviction, you need a Peoria DUI attorney on your side. Contact our firm and discuss your case with an accomplished attorney today!