DUI Penalties in Illinois
Fight Your Charges with Our Peoria DUI Attorneys.
DUIs are considered a serious offense in Illinois, and the law enforcement and the courts take this crime seriously. Illinois has assigned certain penalties depending on the nature of the DUI case. Those that are arrested for a second or third time will receive a harsher penalty than a first-time offender.
Illinois observes a five-year look back period. This means that if a defendant has had a previous DUI conviction within the past five years, than this conviction will be factored in as the court decides the penalties for the defendant. In addition, Illinois does not accept plea bargains for the conviction of a wet reckless.
First Offense DUI in Peoria
If you are charged with a first offense DUI, then you will want to hire a hardworking attorney to help you right away. At the Johnson Law Group, we are here to assist you with your case and help you to potentially avoid the penalties that are associated with this crime.
If you are convicted of a DUI, you can expect to be sentenced with the following punishments:
- Up to one year in jail
- Up to $,2500 in fines
- Minimum 1 year license suspension
- Vehicle registration suspension
- Possible community service
- Possible ignition interlock device requirement
Additional Penalties for DUI Offenses
In addition to the penalties mentioned above, DUI offenders will receive additional fines, jail time, or other punishments if they commit a variety of different crimes. Here are some of the extra offenses that can lead to additional penalties:
Child Under 16 in Vehicle
Illinois issues additional penalties for individuals who had a child under the age of 16 in the car at the time of the DUI arrest. Normally for a first offense, a person who had a child in the car will get additional jail time (up to six months) and will be required to serve at least 25 days community service. The offender will also need to add a $1,000 minimum to the total fine for the crime. For subsequent offenses, these penalties become harsher. For example, a second DUI with a child under 16 in the vehicle is considered a Felony Aggravated DUI that can lead to up to three years in jail.
BAC Above 0.16
The Illinois Penal Code has special punishments reserved for those that have a BAC that is double the 0.08% limit. For a first offense, offenders will receive a $500 minimum addition to their total fines for the crime and will be required to serve at least 100 hours of community service. For a second offense, individuals will receive an additional two days in jail of their crime and another $1,250 added to their total fines.
DUIs Causing Bodily Injury
In DUI accidents where the driver caused serious harm to another person, the Illinois justice system will often affix additional penalties. In 2011, the Illinois amended the Unified Code of Corrections to include a statement that limits the amount of good conduct credits that a DUI offender can receive after a DUI causing bodily injury. Now, offenders can only receive 4.5 credits for each month of imprisonment.
DUI Lawyer in Peoria, Illinois
When arrested for a DUI, you need a reliable and hardworking attorney on your side to help you through your case. A Peoria DUI lawyer at our firm can tackle your case and work hard to help you avoid being subject to these harsh sentences. With over 100 years of experience, you can trust that we will use our knowledge of DUI law to defend you to the best of our abilities!
Contact us by phone or by filling out our online form today to request a complimentary consultation and see what the Johnson Law Group can do for you!
Meet Our Team
Get to know the highly-qualified and experienced attorneys that will be on your case.Click Here
Our clients value us as much as we value them. Read what our clients have to say about us.Click Here
In the News
Our attorneys are frequently featured in the news throughout Central Illinois.Click Here